1. Home
  2. Manage the projects
  3. Projects Management and Configuration

Projects Management and Configuration

One of Project Management and Configuration instruments, from the prospective of high level, is Project Card.

Be aware that appropriate set of rights is required to work with such. For additional information please refer to the “Administration” section of the wiki page.

Project card

Project Card is functionality which is designed for holistic representation of crucial Project’s data and additional configuration of the Project itself such as the name of the Project, start date, due date, approved budget, remaining work, total expected work, and remaining budget.

In order to open the Project Card you need to click on the three dots appearing in the project title bar when the mouse cursor is hovering over it.

Screen #1– Opening Project’s data

By default only general information will be displayed. Project Card should be used to verify that all required initial information is added to the project or for such editing. For example if you forgot to add budget information you won’t be able to use “Burnup” and “Dashboard” instruments of the system for deeper analysis and control of the Project Flow.

Screen #2– Project Card

  • To change Start\End Project date use date-picker(s) located at the top part of the window.

Note

For review and change approved budget information appropriate permission must be granted.

To review more detailed information on Project and perform additional configuration of such, switch toggle “Advanced”, located at the top right corner of the Window and select appropriate tab. It will open you two additional options:

  • Budget Settings

and

  • Info

Screen #3 – Project Card – Budget Settings

Budget Settings

This section is used for budget configuration. To enable such select checkbox “Enable budget processing”. In parallel must be specified identifier for the budget tasks and mark text, used for such.

NOTE

Additional information how to work with budget on different types of integration is granted in a separate chapter of the wiki page. Do not hesitate to review such in case of need. 

Info tab

Contains only general information on budget such as “Scheduled”, “Budgeted” fields and dates when the project was “Imported” or “Added to the pipeline”.

“Scheduled” – amount of planned work.

“Budgeted” – amount of work with allocated budget for such.

“Imported” – date when project was imported into the system.

“Added to the pipeline” – date when project was added to the pipeline.

 

Screen #4 – Project Card – Info Tab

Add new Project

You can create internal projects in Epicflow and add to your project portfolio. Such project will exist in Epicflow and wont be connected to any external system.

NOTE

Be aware that appropriate set of rights is required to Add new Project.For additional information please refer to the “Administration” section of the wiki page.

To create a New Project Go to the Pipeline and choose “Create project”

Screen #2– Create a project through “Pipeline”

Give the name to the project, set up start and finish date.

Checkbox for creating the first task is activated automatically. Then press Create.

Screen #3– Project creation window

Give the name to the task, choose the connected Project from dropdown once you have more than 1 internal Project, assign&add assignee, set dependency once you have more than 1 task.

Checkbox for creating the next task is activated automatically, you can uncheck it.

Then press Create.

Screen #4– First task

Note

In the process of adding a new task in the project, it is desirable to specify predecessors and successors to form a network of dependencies.

Once you are done with creating the tasks your Project will be shown on the Pipeline. Go to the Project card and fill out the additional information.

Pause Project

For the case when Project need to be paused and all work on it must be stopped Project must be transfer to “Inactive Projects” area.

To transfer Project(s) to the “Inactive Projects” area select such by left clicking on their names and use drag and drop functionality to transfer them to “Inactive Projects” area.

Resume Project

As soon as you would like to continue with previously Paused Project and resume all work on such you would need to to transfer it to “Active Projects” area.

To add Inactive Project to the “Active Projects” area select such by left clicking on their names and use drag and drop functionality to transfer them to “Active Projects” area.

Delete Project

All finished or canceled Projects soon or later must be deleted from the system.

To delete Project from the system you’ll need to

  • transfer Project to the “Inactive Projects” area
  • hover over the cursor over the project name
  • press on appeared “Delete Project” button.
  • Confirm required action

 

Updated on December 12, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment